Skip to content

We need an instrument

March 26, 2009

The show Fugazi played at the New Maryland Rec Centre in July of 1998 (aka: Fugazi Live Series #19) was the show by which I gauge all other shows before or since. And nobody anywhere, ever, has measured up. Sorry, Pixies. This is my de facto understanding of live music now: nothing will ever be as good as that. It’s a little sad when you think about it. But then again, I got to be in the room when Fugazi blew the lid off a tiny bingo hall in rural New Brunswick.

My memory of it is very fuzzy now. It was eleven years ago and I’ve sacrificed a lot of brain goo in the name of purposeful substance abuse since then. My friend Jason was there too, and I mentioned to him I was supposed to write something about this show but didn’t have much left to draw on. He sent me these:

This evening slacklikeme and I are hosting a free screening of Instrument on the STU campus here in Fredericton. More info here. You should come.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

