Skip to content

Minksamillion

March 27, 2009

Maximillian ColbyDiscography (2002)
I’ve been on a 90s screamo kick for the last six months or so. I missed it the first time, you see, because I liked the Ramones and Pixies a lot. I am forever playing catch-up.
For fans of: Drive Like Jehu, Fugazi, shouting

The Stolen MinksHigh Kicks (2008)
minksPhoto by bruceley
22 minutes worth of noisy Haligonian pop songs imploring you to get your skinny vegan ass on the dance floor.
For fans of: The Riff Randells, the first Donnas record, hand-screened CD sleeves

Minor ThreatComplete Discography (1989)
I’ve just finished reading Dance of Days and this was lurking the “loud” used bin at Backstreet last Saturday for $8. One or two of the tracks skip. But anyway, I wish I’d owned this album when I was 15. My life might be radically different.
For fans of: early American hardcore, the fast n’ loud, teatotaltarianism

The ConstantinesToo Slow For Love (2009)
consPhoto by Martinn Cathrae
As a rule I don’t really like the Cons that much, but I like this EP an awful lot more than I thought I would. It’s a 7-song digital-only release you can now get for free when you buy the band’s 2008 album Kensington Heights. They’re selling the whole shebang for $5 at The Rolling Tundra Revue.
For fans of: longing, stripped-down versions of songs you already know, misheard lyrics (eg: “Our love could be a shower stall”)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. passerine songs permalink*
    March 27, 2009 9:38 pm

    I am a fan of longing, and of songs I already know, but I haven’t heard that EP yet. Stripped down, as in acoustic?

    Shower stall…just got that.

  2. March 28, 2009 8:58 am

    Nah… there are a couple of acoustic tracks on there, but they’re mostly just quieter. You’d have to hear, I suspect. You should go see the Revue in Winnipeg next month. A lot of people at the show in Fredericton thought the Cons blew the Weakerthans off the stage. Plus, I think that one is a benefit for a youth-at-risk type org in your town.

Leave a Reply

