Skip to content

Record Store Day 2009

April 18, 2009

Yes, yes, it’s Record Store Day in your town. So leave us a comment, readers, and tell us about your favourite shops and what’s going on today. Did you pick up any albums?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. DotDash permalink
    April 18, 2009 6:54 pm

    There’s a decent shop here in Bamberg called Musicland. It delivers near mint-condition used vinyl and books, with a touch middle-aged male curmudgeonry.

    I walked by today, and it looked pretty quiet (most stores close earlier on Saturdays). So, I guess Record Store Day isn’t acknowledged much around here. Junk was going on in bigger cities, though.

    • passerine songs permalink*
      April 19, 2009 2:57 am

      Middle-aged male curmudgeonry must be an international standard when it comes to collecting-based pursuits.

      There were a couple of shops here that were participating. Winnipeg has good record shops, and plenty of folks who frequent them, it seems. There were lots of people out today. A couple of shops had local bands performing, along with some DJs doing sets. Doing my part to support these fine shops, I bought that new Arcade Fire DVD and a Sade record.

  2. April 19, 2009 1:07 pm

    Record Store Day at Backstreet Fredericton was pretty good, although I only stayed for the first band. Piper Perabo, I think? They write songs about living in Devon and being in love with the dancers from the North Star Sports Bar. Oh dear. There was a good number of people out… a lot I knew and a lot I didn’t, which is good.

    As for purchases, I scored a Maximillian Colby/Shotmaker split and Springsteen’s Nebraska, both on used vinyl, and a second-hand copy of the Ramones documentary on DVD, which I think we’re going to screen up on campus sometime in the coming months.

    • passerine songs permalink*
      April 19, 2009 6:47 pm

      Nebraska is best on vinyl, good find.

      • April 19, 2009 7:43 pm

        Agreed. I’m pretty sure Eric had been hoarding some used stuff in lieu of the special RSD releases that came out in the US and the UK because I’m there every week and I rarely find anything I like. I stopped looking after the DVDs and “Just In” vinyl sections because I couldn’t spend any more cash.

Leave a Reply

