Skip to content

The Ghost of Mixtapes Past

June 17, 2009

Hello, welcome to what we hope will become a regular feature wherein we air our dirtiest of laundry in the form of embarrassing mixtapes! There’ll be a tracklist and anecdotes, kind of like the “(n) Records That Changed Your Life” meme which made the rounds on Facebook a few months ago. We’d like you to participate too so we don’t feel so alone in our shame, so I urge you to email one of us if you’d like to submit something for this.

The rules are as follows:

  • The mix must be at least seven years old, but older is better.
  • The mix must exist in a physical form, preferably as a cassette tape but CD-Rs may also be accepted. No ancient WinAmp play lists, please.
  • The mix must have been made by you.

Onward!

This mix is on an unlabeled Sony 90-minute cassette tape, among dozens in a box I dragged out of the basement a few weeks ago. Based on the presence of tracks from Life Is Peachy, Survival of the Fattest, and that Less Than Jake song, I’d guess its vintage at sometime in early 1997. I am eighteen and should have been fresh out of high school but then didn’t graduate, probably due in part to the pervasiveness of cheap pot and (especially) LSD. Whoops.

I find it interesting that I plundered a lot of compilations and movie soundtracks for this.

Side A
My Name is Mud – Primus

I was really embarrassed about the fact that I used to like Primus, but then this morning I read this, and now I don’t feel bad anymore.

I’m Against It – Ramones

I think this is probably the most underrated Ramones song. It’s not in the boxed set or on any of the standard “Greatest Hits” comps. The lyrics are so good! “I don’t like politics / I don’t like communists / I don’t like games and fun / I don’t like anyone / And I’m against it”

Bombtrack – Rage Against The Machine
Adidas – Korn

This is indefensible and I know it. I’d like to point out I never liked Limp Bizkit, Incubus, Deftones, or any other bro rock bands from the late 90s/early aughts. Korn were (are?) terrible and then a couple of them got sober and found Jesus or something. Huh!

California Dreamin’ – Hi-Standard

From the Fat Wreck sampler Survival of the Fattest. Goodness, I played the shit out of that thing when it came out.

Violent Passification – Slayer

I never had a Slayer phase as such, but at one time I owned their album of punk covers. All the metal guys I knew hated it, but for a while I thought it was pretty okay.

Nazi Punks Fuck Off – Dead Kennedys
March of the Pigs – Nine Inch Nails

This is leftover from a short-lived “industrial/goth” phase in which I wore a lot of black lipstick and preferred bands who used drum machines. I’m so glad LiveJournal didn’t exist when I was a kid.

Time for Livin’ – Beastie Boys

Hey, did you guys know the Beastie Boys used to be a punk band? Here’s a video!


100% – Sonic Youth
Forkboy – Lard
Automatic – Less Than Jake

Okay, this actually has a story! I put on a show for Alderknot and 3foot7 from Fredericton in (I believe) February of 1997. 3foot7 were a ska band and were very cute and wore little suits and everything. And! They gave away cookies and a box of cassette singles (“cassingles“) with Less Than Jake on one side and Jimmy Eat World on the other. I think there was a snow storm or something that night, so the turnout wasn’t great, and I couldn’t give the Fredericton bands any gas money, and I think there was some even some drama over that. Anyway. Cookies and cassette tapes, you guys!

I Kill Children – Dead Kennedys
Rock ‘n’ Roll Nigger – Patti Smith

I’d like to suggest the inclusion of this song balances out and otherwise makes up for the Korn and Primus.

Surfin’ Bird – Ramones
Tommy the Cat – Primus

Ladies and gentlemen, the Bill and Ted’s Bogus Journey Original Motion Picture Soundtrack.

Nic Fit – Sonic Youth

Side B
Killing In the Name – Rage Against the Machine
Lowrider – Korn
Time Bomb – Rancid

From Out Come The Wolves, the only Rancid album I still throw on from time to time.

Richard Hung Himself – Slayer
Drug Me – Dead Kennedys
Honey Bucket – Melvins

I still really like this song. They didn’t play it when I saw them in Boston last month. Hey look, another video!


Jesus Built My Hotrod – Ministry
Freedom – Rage Against the Machine
Overblown – Mudhoney

I read an interview once where the band explained that they’d been given an obscene amount of money to contribute a track to the Singles soundtrack. In the end they recorded “Overblown” at someone’s house and spent most of the money on booze. Part of that story is alluded to here, and it boggles my mind that anyone, ever got paid $20,000 for one song. Hey, record companies, maybe it’s this kind of shit that doomed your industry, and not home taping

Do the Slag – Dead Kennedys
Code Blue – TSOL

From Epitaph’s Punk-O-Rama 2. I really liked the “being offensive for its own sake” aspect of this song, but I don’t think I’ve ever heard anything else by TSOL.

Debaser – Pixies
*a whole bunch of silence because I probably had to go take some drugs or something*

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2009 9:53 pm

    The only truly embarassing song on there is Korn, and even then that’s perfectly acceptable depending on your age at the time.

    I want to see the mixtapes featuring MC Hammer and Kriss Kross. You know someone was mixing them in…

    • June 17, 2009 11:19 pm

      I definitely made some like that (I also liked Soul II Soul and Technotronic) but I also used to re-use blank tapes a lot, so I’m afraid they’re lost to time. :(

      • passerine songs permalink*
        June 18, 2009 2:13 am

        I still like Soul II Soul. *thumbs up*

  2. passerine songs permalink*
    June 17, 2009 11:09 pm

    “Ladies and gentlemen, the Bill and Ted’s Bogus Journey Original Motion Picture Soundtrack.” Station!

    “Code Blue” was such a strange addition to Punk-O-Rama 2. Great tune, but it was really out of place. This one old track that had nothing to do with Epitaph stuck in with all these new bands. That was the only song I’d heard too, for a long time. If you like the Damned at all, you might like the first TSOL LP (which “Code Blue” was on).

    • June 17, 2009 11:20 pm

      Yeah, I thought it stuck out at the time, too. I knew TSOL were an old band and I assumed Epitaph were reissuing their stuff or some such…

      • passerine songs permalink*
        June 18, 2009 2:04 am

        Yeah, and they never did reissue anything.

  3. June 19, 2009 10:04 am

    I found a scary pile of old tapes/cd’s the other day, I will be emailing I’m sure!

Leave a Reply

