Skip to content

Fill In The Blanks

July 7, 2009

Via Carrie Brownstein’s Monitor Mix:

monitor_mix_main

Fill in the following blanks with the name of a band or musician:

1. I’ve had to defend my love of _____________________ over the years.

2. As far as I’m concerned, ______________________ nearly ruined music.

3. On of my favorite bass players ever? That’s easy: It’s _______________________.

4. If I could go back in time and dance like crazy, crowd surf or join a mosh pit, I would do that at a ___________________ show.

5. If I were to frame one album cover and put it on my wall, it would be _______________________.

Carrie’s answers:

1. Jackson Browne
2. Bono
3. Dave Allen, Gang of Four
4. Kleenex
5. The Pastels’ Mobile Safari

My answers:

1. AC/DC
2. The Eagles… though I wouldn’t assign them enough importance to actually destroy music, someone had them on in the office this morning. My gracious, just awful.
3. Kim Deal
4. I want to say “some early Fugazi show” but I’m a small person and find myself fearing for my bodily integrity in mosh situations. If seventeen-year-old me got to go, she would not be scared.
5. Ramones – s/t

Your turn.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. passerine songs permalink*
    July 8, 2009 1:34 am

    This is great.

    1. I’ve had to defend all kinds of stuff. I want to say Iron Maiden, though, because for years nobody I knew understood why I would bother with them. Times have completely changed, of course, and nobody has to defend them much anymore, but, that was not the case in the nineties.

    2. Korn. (Et al.)

    3. Bruce Foxton, he totally enhanced The Jam. He was good later on in Stiff Little Fingers, too.

    4. I’d go back to one of the Motortown Revue shows in the sixties.

    5. The first Wilderness album. That image is endless.

  2. Dan permalink
    July 8, 2009 11:27 am

    Hey guys, I’m bored.

    1. AIDS Wolf.
    2. My Chemical Romance. Or Fall Out Boy.
    3. Mike Watt, even though I saw Dos back in 2004 and they were terrible.
    4. Since Mary has already gone with “some early Fugazi show”, I’d go back to see one of the Decline of Western Civilization shows. Or any Black Flag show from that era.
    5. The Minor Threat discography.

    • passerine songs permalink*
      July 8, 2009 11:56 am

      AIDS Wolf, right on.

      I also thought about a Black Flag show for #4, or Minor Threat.

Leave a Reply

