Skip to content

Relevant To Your Interests #020

September 10, 2009
  • Lee Ranaldo fractured his wrist while playing tennis (?!) which has led his band Sonic Youth to reschedule bunch of upcoming tour dates. Luckily they filmed the episode of Gossip Girl in which the band will appear before Lee was injured. Squee!
  • Did you know there’s a small tax levied on all blank media sold in Canada? This includes blank cassette tapes, and that spindle of 100 CD-Rs you liberated from the supply closet at work. On the surface it kind of sucks, but this fee is part of what has kept Canada’s copyright laws a little more relaxed than those in a lot of other countries; the reasoning being that this fee is collected in order to compensate copyright holders for any damages they may incur as a result of people copying their intellectual property. Got it? Okay. So now there’s talk of adding a similar fee to the price of iPods and other digital music players sold here. I’m all for it if it keeps CRIA off my back. What do you think?
  • Small Brown Bike: back together, playing some shows.
  • Black Lips: burglars, thieving drunks, “assholes”
  • Everyone drop what you’re doing! Chuck Klosterman has an opinion about The Beatles!
  • Yo La Tengo‘s new record came out on Tuesday via Matador. It’s called Popular Songs and it’s available wherever you usually get your music. Is it any good? I don’t know because I haven’t listened yet. You know what is definitely good, though? This video from 1997:
6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2009 10:32 am

    “Everyone drop what you’re doing!” This made me giggle.

  2. passerine songs permalink*
    September 10, 2009 2:15 pm

    OK, two anecdotes concerning my luck thus far with Lee Ranaldo:

    The first occurred many years ago, when I was supposed to do a phone interview with Mr. Ranaldo for CHSR. Everything was all ready to go, but, unbeknownst at the time to me and my co-host, some knob had gone and disconnected all the equipment we needed to use and didn’t reconnect anything, so all we got was some label/publicist guy on the phone telling us we sucked.

    And now, I’ve been planning to go to see Sonic Youth next month, and have been completely stoked about it…but then read yesterday that Lee had fractured his wrist. Had no idea it was tennis, though, how ’bout that? Anyway, they’ve only cancelled five shows or something, so, it might still work out.

    As for the iPod tax, I don’t know. Undecided. It’s never been all that clear to me just where the money from that blank media tax was going.

    • September 10, 2009 2:56 pm

      You and Lee Ranaldo have some kind of cursed voodoo shit going on, apparently. Weird. Also: didn’t you and Jen go see SY in Montreal or something one time? I vaguely remember that but maybe you ended up not going or something.

      • passerine songs permalink*
        September 10, 2009 3:18 pm

        I know, it sucks because I think he’s really great. Nuts to this cursed voodoo.

        And no, I didn’t go to MTL to see them. I’ve never seen them, actually. I don’t think anyone I know has seen them…?

  3. September 10, 2009 4:44 pm

    Not a fan an ipod tax. Seems like just another lame excuse for the government to steal my money. Taxes should be kept to an minimum to support only necessary services (i.e. medicare, roads, schools, and military). That’s my two cents, and untaxed two cents at that.

Leave a Reply

