Skip to content

PEI Scene Report!

October 7, 2009

I’m getting into fall mode, which means scarves, soup and bad evening TV. It gets harder to imagine putting on pants to leave the house, and those reasons keep dwindling as it gets colder and colder. Touring bands are a rarity, and sometimes shit just gets stale when I can’t afford to pony up the $45 to cross that stupid bridge.

But this fall, I am feeling a bit more optimistic about little PEI. I have only spent ONE winter here in the last five years (three years in Fredericton, one year in Calgary) and I remember some bleak times. Not anymore! Errrrr at least…. not this October!

I’m pretty excited about the fact that my favourite new prairie band Rah Rah is coming to play TWICE this month. They have members from Regina’s Sylvie and they serve out some upbeat rock songs that are covered with violin, keyboards and gang vocals. I’m an upbeat and happy girl at heart, so I love when all of these elements are wrapped up together. This Wednesday, Rah Rahare playing at Hunter’s Ale House and then again on the 13th at Baba’s with locals The North Lakes and The Meds. Not sure who else is playing the Hunter’s show, I checked their website and the event calendar had listing errors aplenty. Boo!

In Regina, Saskatchewaaaaaan

Rah Rah!

Although many places are starting to close up shop for the winter, luckily Cafe Ampersand is bringing lots of great acts for the rest of the month. If you have never been to Ampersand, you can expect to find bikes parked out front, cute t-shirts, art, as well as a steady supply of Stewart’s soda.

On the 20th, you can catch a lovely night of indie music with Toronto’s The Weather Station and Entire Cities.  Later in the month, there is a folkier show with Olenka and the Autumn Lovers and Arts & Craft‘s Timber Timbre. If I wasn’t going to be at the Halifax Pop Explosion that weekend, I’d be all over it, trust me.

Speaking of HPX, we do rejoice in the fact that Charlottetown gets quite a bit of its run-off. Yay!

For instance Ohbijou and The Acorn are playing at my favourite little bar (Baba’s Lounge) for the teeny tiny price of $8, as compared to $15/$18 for the Halifax show. There is also You Say Party! We Say Die! happening at Hunter’s on the 23rd and Attack in Black earlier that week. The last time Attack in Black came to Charlottetown, it was  stupidly empty. I’m hoping that people have smartened up by now and get their asses to this show.

Attack in Black

Attack in Black!

One important/awesome/exciting thing is that DIY show promoter Matt Dixon has returned, which means there will be more house shows in my future. (Side note: I’ve been going to house shows in this damn town since high school, and they have been such a huge part of my life. I’m glad that as a cranky adult, I can still pop into someone’s living room and get my ears blown off. )
Anyway, his first show announcement has been for Play Guitar and Boxer the Horse on the 22nd. They are playing at Lyon’s house in downtown Charlottetown, which is notorious for holding most of the shows for the High Fives Forever Festival in the summer of 2008. Local singer/songwriter Andrea MacDonald is the current resident, and I’m happy she’s around. Thank youuuuuu! I’m not just saying this because I can hear the music from my house, either.

Lyon's House

Cake!

Other sidenotes:

  • Two Hours Traffic is having their CD release for Territory at Hunter’s on the 24th. (I like this band a lot, but this album is my least favourite. sorry.)
  • Jakob Poirier is the lead singer for Charlottetown punk band Slave Class. And he is also a contestant on the new season of Discovery Channel’s Canada’ Worst Driver? Weird.
  • White Cowbell Oklahoma are going to try to squeeze into Baba’s. I’m confused as to how this will work.
  • Ryan Crane (from Smothered in Hugs) keeps reminding me how to do a fuckin’ show poster. Everyone else on PEI, take note.
  • Kids fight in front of the University bar? No wayyyyy.

All and all, I think between a few of these shows and my trip to HPX (Japanther, omg, *squee*) I will be sufficiently broke and consistently hungover for work until snowfall. Nothing changes.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2009 9:55 am

    Excellent post, Aimee. Come visit me. We don’t have a music venue. sigh.

    • aimee permalink
      October 7, 2009 11:51 am

      I will come visit. Last time I went out in Saint John we went to Elwood’s. Har har

  2. October 7, 2009 9:58 am

    Canada’s Worst Driver! That IS weird.

    • aimee permalink
      October 7, 2009 11:54 am

      I’m really interested to see how they portray him on the show. I LOVE REALITY TV

  3. October 8, 2009 7:48 pm

    great article, aimee!

Trackbacks

  1. PEI Scene Report #007 « Gunshy

Leave a Reply

