Skip to content

PEI Scene Report #002

November 4, 2009

Guys, we all hate November. I don’t mean to be month prejudiced, but November is typically the worst, especially now that Maine has just broken our hearts. Granted, there are things like Mo’vember and Remembrance Day (woo paid holiday) to make it all a bit easier, but November is the month where my furry bathrobe is the best thing ever and it is hard to get me out of that thing. Anyway, here are some things I might do if my bathrobe catches fire or something.

The Most Serene Republic are playing at Hunter’s Ale House on the 25th. Another Wednesday, fuck! Yeah, I usually try not to let weekdays stop me, but my office job requires me to look half-presentable, so these days are tough ones. But I love this band. “Present and Future End” from their 2007 album is such a fantastic song, but I have yet to find a song that strikes me like that on their newer album. Although, I’m a bit bummed that the Meligrove Band won’t be joining their east coast leg of the tour. Mardeen are a great band, but I always seem to have an opportunity to see them, you know?

I am happy happy Shotgun Jimmie is coming back! He is playing with BA Johnston! This will be the happiest show ever. I had been spying their tour dates and noticed Charlottetown wasn’t on there for the longest time, so I’m glad Baba’s stepped up and booked them a show. Either way, this show is on a Tuesday (fuck) but I won’t miss it. Jimmie’s Close to the Coast set was probably my favourite of the festival. Bring your snot shield for the BA set!

BA Johnston!

BA Johnston!

Another Hamilton pal is coming east and his name is Wax Mannequin. He is playing at Baba’s Lounge on the 19th which is a Thursday (fuck) with Rae Spoon (who I have yet to see, yay). Wax will be releasing a new CD! I don’t want to get too creepy here, but I have a crazy crush on this man. I find him both funny and enchanting and his Twitter updates are always incredible. He gave me a rose once, would it be weird if I gave him one back?

Over this past month I’ve been a busy girl, but luckily I was able to catch a handful of goodness. My favourite October surprise was seeing The Zolas at Timothy’s coffee this past Saturday. Although they could come across as being very college-rock-radio, they stood out to me as being playful and sweet. I was having a sickpants afternoon and they certainly cheered me up.

The Zolas, from Vancouver

The Zolas, from Vancouver

I was also fortunate enough to catch Emm Gryner in Charlottetown last night. She was lovely, charming and way too patient for the crowd that kept trying to talk over her. Luckily, I didn’t get all drunk and ask her what it was like to kiss my great Canadian crush (Pacey Witter) so I deem the evening a success.

Other junks:

  • Catherine MacLellan is the winner of PEI’s part of the Great Canadian Song Quest, and will thankfully NOT be singing about either Cavendish or Anne of Green Gables. Phew.
  • A bit bummed that not a single PEI band made it into any categories in the CBC Radio 3 Bucky Awards. So how about voting Damian Abraham (from Fucked Up) for Sexiest Musician to ease your sorrows?
  • From 2007: Video of Dog Day playing at Reading Well bookstore. RIP great little venue.
  • If you want to be in a music video and are comfortable with fake ejaculate on your face, call these guys.
  • Elliott Fuckin’ Brood is playing on the 12th at Baba’s. I hear they’re a pretty big deal.

Although November is synonymous with boring,  I think I’m going to tell my pessimism (and student loan payments) to take a back seat for this month. There are at least four fun shows I’d like to witness, so I will come out of hibernation with rummy egg nog in hand.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2009 6:53 pm

    Imma luuuurve this blog. I’m adding a link to my link section thingy right now.
    Perhaps you would consider doing the same? *bats eyelashes*
    http://eastcoast-overture.com

    -Jill

  2. Jonathan M. Lane permalink
    November 4, 2009 8:14 pm

    Urgh, bad news about Meligrove. I love those guys and would really like to see them live some time.

    Thanks for keeping us up-to-date.

    • aimee. permalink
      November 5, 2009 10:35 am

      Thanks for reading! I should be doing this monthly so hopefully I don’t run out of things to talk about :)

  3. November 4, 2009 10:11 pm

    Hey Aimee,

    Just thought I’d let you know that my 19th birthday is NOVEMBER the 7th, so you can suck it.

    Thanks,
    Josh

    • aimee. permalink
      November 5, 2009 10:34 am

      dibs on coming to your party.

Trackbacks

  1. PEI Scene Report #003 « Gunshy

Leave a Reply

