Skip to content

NFA | Catch 23 split 7″

November 13, 2009

nfa-coverThis was one of the last New Brunswick-produced vinyl releases for a long time. It came out in 1995, the only release from Saint John’s Jigsaw Labs, and shortly thereafter everybody got CD burners, so bands started burning demos at home instead of going to the trouble of having records pressed. It’s only recently that bands like Albert County’s The Strawmen started putting out 7″s again.

I believe I purchased this at Moncton’s Room 201 Records. I wrote (like, a letter. And sent it in the mail) to Gavin from Jigsaw Labs, told him I was putting out a zine, and asked what was going on catch23-coverwith his label so I could include an article in my next issue. He wrote back and said something to effect of, “Uh, not too much is happening with the label. You want some mix tapes?” Later he sent me three(!!) re-purposed 90 minute cassettes with songs by all kinds of crazy bands I’d never heard before like CRASS and Big Black. None of this has anything to do NFA or Catch 23!

Andrew and Jason from NFA went on to form Hospital Grade. I assume Craig went on to have kids and play hockey in his spare time. Phil from Catch 23 is now better known as A\V. Chrissy is still around too, but I don’t know if she’s still playing music. I’m not sure what ever happened to Wilf.

Download NFA | Catch 23 split 7″ from Evilmp3.

Tracklist:

  • NFA – Skyhook Coathanger
  • Catch 23 – Propane
5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2009 10:59 pm

    Wilf was/is Phil’s drum machine.

    • November 15, 2009 11:04 pm

      Haha! Yes, I know, I just don’t know if he (it) is still around and in use.

  2. Krissy permalink
    November 16, 2009 8:38 am

    Ha! Cool, blast from the past first thing in the morning. I was thinking recently how neat it would be to see some of those, ah, unique personally designed covers.

    Since the demise of THE HOT DAMNS! I have been working away on a bunch of songs on my acoustic. They might just see the light of day soon.

    • November 16, 2009 8:53 am

      My roommate has another version of the sleeve covered in stickers from a grocery store or something. They’re neon orange and they say “FRESH” or “SPECIAL” or something like that.

  3. November 16, 2009 9:28 pm

    The one I kept has like a break in case of en emergency type feel to it.

Leave a Reply

