Skip to content

Jenocide – Machines To Make Us Wet

December 7, 2009

Machines To Make Us Wet

Jenocide - Machines To Make Us Wet (Independent, 2009)

Jen Clarke (who you may know as “the girl in Windom Earle“) has been collabourating with Ed Renzi since last year. Machines To Make Us Wet is the first full length release from the duo, following the EP bikerides.barrettes.bruises released earlier this year.

The album is made up of badass beats, handclaps, 8-bit video game sounds, and a bunch of infectious melodies and the subject matter never strays too far from boys, makeout sessions, and the problems therein. It sounds polished for an independent release and that’s not necessarily a bad thing, but I think it would lend an edge to the songs if the vocals were a little rougher. On most of the tracks Clarke sounds breathy and detached, at times almost bored, and I get the sense she might be holding back. I’d like to hear her really belt some shit out, but there’s not much of that happening on here.

I really want to be in love with this record because I love the idea that there is a woman on the east coast performing sexy electro pop. There’s nothing particularly wrong with anything on here, but I want it to kick my ass and be worthy of their “FUCK YOU PARTY TIME” battle-cry. It doesn’t quite get there, but it’s still enough to make me want to check Jenocide out live.

Choice tracks: Coming For You, Junglefk (I Want It)
Choice lyrics: These things in the magazines don’t always make sense to me / I’ll put ’em away and not shave.

Further Listening/Viewing/Reading:

Leave a Reply

