Skip to content

PEI Scene Report #005

March 4, 2010

I’ve had a hard time concentrating on shit these days. My head has been in a Sydney-induced cloud for the last little while. My time and energy has been focused on saving money, making Google maps and creating questionable iPod playlists for the big ECMA trip. Stay away snow!!

The Death Avengers

The Death Avengers | Aimee Power photo

I have still managed to get out and about for a few things! Not a lot of things, but a few.
The Death Avengers had their CD release party, as you may or may not know. I picked up the disc which was an affordable $5 for the seven-song EP. I am really enjoying it and I had a drunken blast at the show. Still made it home with a CD and my camera, so the night was a huge success for me. Singing along to “Tinkerbell” and “Fields on Fire” is a great time, you should try it.

The Burning Hell

The Burning Hell | Aimee Power photo

Last night I popped into both Back Alley and Baba’s to see Shotgun Jimmie and the Burning Hell. I always love seeing Jimmie (as I’ve mentioned in the past) but it was only my second time seeing the big sound that is the Burning Hell. The all-ages set was a stripped down version of the band, but their charm and witty song writing won me over. They also covered a song from The Little Mermaid. Best.  I am glad I went to their Baba’s show too as it was MUCH louder, but had just as much heart and depth. I will probably go see these guys again.

One thing: I think the lead singer’s knit vest had an image of two Moose screwing on it?

Contrived

Contrived | via their MySpace

As for March…..I am excited about seeing Contrived. I actually haven’t heard much about these guys in the last few years, and I think the last time they came to Charlottetown was in 2007? Regardless, I was a fan many moons ago and on March 13th at Hunter’s Ale House, we will see if I am still a fan. I need to stop seeing so much wussy indie rock stuff, anyway.

I don’t have much to say these days. Winter blahs and that whole thing. April is looking better, though. Much, much better.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

