Skip to content

Halifax Swap Explosion’s loss is your gain!

October 28, 2010

Win this shit!

Before I left Fredericton for the Pop Explosion, I spent several days making a mixtape with the intention of bringing it to the Halifax Swap Explosion mixtape swap last Thursday. Except I fell asleep (in the middle of the goddamned day) and ended up not making it to the swap. But I’ve still got this lovely tape with a handmade cover and 90 minutes of painstakingly compiled songs on it. These include hits by your favourite stars like Michael Jackson, Superchunk, and White Lung. Also: a vinyl Gunshy sticker. Put it on your math binder or whatever!

Anyway, I’d like someone to have this tape, so I’ve decided a contest is the way to go. Simply leave a comment in which you recount an embarassing incident where you missed out on something awesome because of your own stupidity and/or slothfulness. I’ll arbitrarily choose the best one and that person will win the mixtape, provided they include a reasonable means for me to contact them.

Let the humiliation begin!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2010 8:51 am

    I can’t even recall how many times I’ve missed a Hospital Grade set because I was busy indulging in alcoholic beverages, and probably a living room dance party or two. And in more than one city! Might not win me the mixtape, but it sure does illustrate stupidity, I’m not proud to say.

  2. October 28, 2010 8:54 am

    Also, my car has a tape player in it. I don’t own any cassettes anymore! *wink wink, nudge nudge*

    • October 28, 2010 9:02 am

      No cassettes? That’s no good. Even if you don’t win the mixtape, I’m going to dub a bunch of recent local-ish cassettes on to one long tape and send it to you. Norts, Cold Warps, Adam Mowery, etc. Possibly Jem and The Holograms.

      • October 28, 2010 9:09 am

        JATH = Amazing.

        That would be swell, miss!

        I’ve got one of those cassette adapter thingies that you can use an mp3 player with. It’s okay, but it is no cassette full of local-ish musics.

Leave a Reply

